Advance Mail Spam Filtering Settings (User)

«
Back to Advanced Mail

Spam Filtering Settings
Trusted Senders
Blocked Senders

Spam Filtering Settings

« Back to Top

User settings allow you to change settings on an individual user level. These changes only affect the email account that they are set for. User settings can override Global settings, or add to them in the case of Trusted Senders and Blocked Senders. To edit User settings, click the User tab. You will then be able to select the email address you wish to change the settings for.

Once on the User's tab, click the email address you wish to edit settings for then clickSpam to view or change the spam filtering settings.

Webmail User Settings

You may need to select Override my server defaults box to be able to make any changes.

Webmail User Settings - Override Defaults

You can then set what you want to do with filtered mail by choosing from the options of:

  • Delete message immediately - to simply delete all email picked up as spam so you don't see them at all
  • Block message into Quarantine - default setting which places all email detected as spam into the Quarantine Folder
  • Tag and let message pass through - this doesn't filter out the spam, but it marks the subject of the email as SUSPECTED SPAM

Various category filters can also be turned on or off by checking the boxes next to them.

Webmail User Settings - Spam Filtering

The level of filtering can be changed. The default level is Extreme. To lower the level of filtering, it can also be set to Strong or Normal. The filtering can also be turned off altogether by selecting Disabled.

Webmail User Settings - Filtering Level

Trusted Senders

« Back to Top

For an email address or domain to bypass the spam filters, they need to be added to the Trusted Senders list. To add a Trusted sender, select Trusted Senders from the domain tab. Then click Add.

Webmail User Settings - Trusted Sender

A trusted sender can be added as an individual email address or a whole domain. Select either Email or Domain and then type in either the email address or the domain name. Then click Add.

Webmail User Settings - Add Trusted Sender

You will then see your trusted senders. When a domain is added it will show an asterisk * before the @ symbol. Trusted Senders set on a Global level will show above and cannot be changed on a User level.

Webmail User Settings - Trusted Senders List

To remove a trusted sender click on Delete to the right of the trusted sender you wish to take off the list.

Webmail User Settings - Remove Trusted Sender

Confirm the removal by clicking Delete.

Webmail User Settings - Delete Trusted Sender

Blocked Senders

« Back to Top

Blocked Senders allow you to block incoming email from either an individual email address or from a whole domain. This can be done on both a global level and an individual mailbox level. Select Blocked Senders from the Users tab to add to the individual blocked senders list. You may need to first select Override my server defaults.

Webmail User Settings - Blocked Senders

You can choose what to do with any blocked senders. The options include:

  • Delete message immediately - deletes all email from the blocked senders so you don't see them at all
  • Tag and let message pass through (SUSPECTED-SPAM) - this doesn't filter out the blocked sender, but it marks the subject of the email as SUSPECTED SPAM
  • Block message into Quarantine - sends all emails from blocked senders into the Quarantine folder
  • Webmail User Settings - Blocked Senders Options

    Click Add to add a domain or email address to the blocked senders. Select either Email or Domain and then type in either the email address or the domain name. Then click Add.

    Webmail User Settings - Add Blocked Sender

    You will then see your blocked senders. When a domain is added it will show an asterisk * before the @ symbol. Blocked Senders set on a Global level will show above and cannot be changed on a User level.

    To remove a blocked sender click on Delete to the right of the blocked sender you wish to take off the list.

    Webmail User Settings - Remove Blocked Sender

    Confirm the removal by clicking Delete.

    Webmail User Settings - Delete Blocked Sender

DID YOU KNOW?

If you add someone to your Blocked Senders list but they are also on your Trusted Senders list, they will be a Trusted Sender, and so emails from them will not be blocked.